Mrs. Samuel Henry Thackston letter 1936 Cullen, VA

Original letter from former wife of Samuel Henry Thackston, now Mrs. Sam Anderson, presumably Evie Baker (1880-1962).  Samuel was the son of James Henry Thackston and Rosa Wheeler, grandson of Henry Chellis Thackston and Elizabeth Ann Early, great-grandson of Nathaniel Thackston and Francis Smith Andrews:

Cullen, Va

Aug. 26th 1936

Mr. W. G. McDonough

Mrs. Gibson Postmistress of Darlington Hgts sent your letter to me.  As my first husband was a Thackston a descendant of Nathaniel Thackston born Aug 22, 1803 – he was the great-grandfather of my husband Samuel Henry Thackston.  I am very sorry I can not tell you much about the back generation.  The [sic] were a fine old family. and were always proud of their ancestors who were very aristocratic and was one of the first settlers from England I understand.

I notice you do not spell the name the same as the Thackston family I married in.  There is a family in Pr Ed Co. that are not related at all to my husbands people.  Mr. Hubert Thaxton, Darlington Hgts. Va write to him possibly that is home of your people.  I feel that he can give you more information than I.  I have to [sic] precious boys James Thackston and Curtis, both are fine young men.  And my husband who passed away 9 long yrs ago.  And a fine christian man.  You can also write to an aunt of my husband Mrs Joe Thackston, Union Level Halifax Co., Va.  (It is either this or Coles Ferry Va.)

I hope I have given you names of someone who can give you more information than I have.

With all my good wishes yours truly

Mrs. Sam Anderson

Darlington Hgts Va

Looking for Thackston / Thaxton?  We have 25 years’ research to share.  ThaxtonGenealogy@yahoo.com.  Betty Porter

Leave a comment

Filed under Letter

Leave a Reply

