News & obituaries, Thaxton L. Epperson family

Galveston Daily News, 15 Mar 1885:

Had His Hands Burned
LIVINGSTON, March 14.— Mr. T. J. Epperson had his bands badly burned yesterday. His wife’s dress caught fire, and in putting it out he got burned.

********************

Galveston Daily News, 23 Jul 1885:

LIVINGSTON, July 22.—W. Elmore Fitze and family, and Tom Epperson, our efficient and popular sheriff, left on the noon train for Wootan Wells. Mr. Fitze has been sick for come time, and takes this method of restoring his health. Mr. Epperson pays a flying visit to his wife, who has been at the Wells for some time. The people of Livingston congratulate him on her rapid recovery.

********************

Galveston Daily News, 27 Jun 1904:

Funeral of Capt. Epperson.
Livingston, Polk Co., Tex., June 25.—Capt. T. L. Epperson, who died the night of the 23d inst., was buried here today with Masonic honors. Capt. Epperson had reached the ripe old age of 88 years. He had been a citizen of Texas and Polk County for sixty years. He served as Captain in the Mexican War under Gen. Zachary Taylor. He saw service on the frontier against the Indians.

***********************

Galveston Daily News, 09 Mar 1924:

LIVINGSTON

Mrs. Willie Wood of Houston is visiting her parents, Mr. and Mrs. W. T. Epperson.

***********************
Galveston Daily News, 24 Apr 1924:

EPPERSON–Livingston, Tex., April 23.—W. T. Epperson, 74 years old, died at his home here. Funeral services were conducted by Rev. W. J. Richards at the family residence, after which burial was made in the City Cemetery. Mr. Epperson was born and lived all his life in Polk County. Survivors are Mrs. W. T. Epperson, Mrs. W. S. Close and Mrs. Louis Sory of Livingston; Mrs. W. Wood at Houston; Mrs. P. H. Marshall of Galup, N.M., and Charlie Epperson of San Antonio.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “News & obituaries, Thaxton L. Epperson family

  1. Minnie Lewis Sory Page

    I am the daughter of Minnie Eola Epperson Sory and W. L. Sory. I just happened to find this website. I would love to hear from some of my relatives. W. T. Epperson was my grandfather and Florence Cordelia Epperson my grandmother.

  2. I am the grandaughter of Lucy Epperson Close and W. T. Epperson was also my grandfather. I am looking for the death certificate for him.

  3. Let me correct this…I am the grandaughter of Lucy Epperson Close and the great grandaughter of W. T. Epperson.

  4. Minnie Lewis Sory Page

    I do not have the death certificate for W. T. Epperson and do not know where it can be found.

  5. Minnie Lewis,
    I looked at the court house in Livingston and it wasn’t there. I will look again since I have the obituary. I knew that he died in Livingston but haven’t been able to prove his death. I’m not sure DRT will except the tombstone date.
    Janet

  6. Minnie Lewis Sory Page

    Janet Beth,
    I have grandmother’s family bible and I will look in it to see if there is anything there on the birth and death pages. I don’t know if that would be Accepted or not.
    ML

  7. Minnie Lewis-
    Thanks. Also would you look at see if Big Mamma’s marriage is recorded? I can’t find a marriage license. I think maybe my grandfather might have obtained the license in either Conroe or Cold Springs.
    Janet

  8. Minnie Lewis Sory Page

    Janet Beth,
    It is recorded in the Epperson bible that
    “W.T. Epperson departed this life on April 20, 1924 at the age of 74 years and 7 months.”
    It also is recorded in the bible that “Lucy Patilla Epperson and William Spence Close were married on the 23rd of May, 1907 at 2:30 o’clock”
    I also have the original clipping from the Enterprise of W.T. Epperson’s death and funeral.
    There are many notations in the bible..some hard to read because it is very fragile.
    Minnie Lewis

  9. Minnie Lewis-
    Thanks for that information. I will check and see if I can use it from the Bible. If so could you make a copy for me?
    Janet

  10. roy Hill

    Thaxton Epperson was my great-gr uncle. married to the sister of James Ewing Hill. Minnie Eeola Sory was my grandfather’s first cousin. the Eppersons are also Hill descendants.
    Roy Hill
    roy.hill@me.com

  11. Mary Goodwin

    Thaxton Louis Epperson was my gggrandfather. My ggrandfather was Thomas James Epperson. He was a brother to W.T. Epperson and W.T. Epperson raised my grandfather(T.L. Epperson) and his two younger sisters after the death of Thomas James and his wife Fannie Shotwell Epperson. Through this line I have joined the Daughters of the Republic of Texas and the Daughters of the American Revolution. Contact me if you are interested in these organizations.

Leave a Reply

